The Sweetest Thing & My First ASCP

No, I’m not referring to the U2 tune, but to my first ASCP project!  Wouldn’t she look perfect in a little girl’s bedroom?

This was my first time using Annie Sloan Chalk Paint.  I visited my local distributor of ASCP, the Little Black Chair, to pick it up last week.  I was so excited to try it.

Yep, what they say is true.  It goes on easily and smoothly without having to sand or prime. You can use it directly over old wax, paint, or varnish.  ASCP is water-based, eco-friendly and highly concentrated to produce extensive covering power (taken right from the can itself).  So I tested it.  I used 2 coats of Antoinette, I did not sand, and it covered beautifully.

The dark bronze hardware didn’t quite fit the new Antoinette color, so I used Kryon’s Dual paint and primer in white satin.  A couple of coats of spray paint later and the drawer pulls finished the sweet look of this soft pink dresser.

Sorry about the sideways pictures.  I can’t get the edit feature in WordPress to work today.  I think this is reminding me that I need to start using photo editing software…AND invest in a DSLR camera.

Here’s what she looked like before.  I bought this dresser 14 years ago for $25.00 at an ARC thrift store.

I’m not quite finished with her.  I still need to distress and use ASCP soft wax in clear, but I couldn’t wait to share my first ASCP project with you!

Have a great weekend!  -Angela

Sharing here:

Wednesday:

Piece Of Work Wednesday @ Primitive And Proper

Primp Your Stuff Wednesday @ {Primp}

Chalk Paint Linky Party @ Shades Of Amber

Wow Us Wednesday @ Savvy Southern Style

Restore Interiors – Restored It Wednesday

Thursday:
Transformation Thursday @ The Shabby Creek Cottage

Hookin Up with HoH @ House of Hepworths
Strut Your Stuff Thursday @ Somewhat Simple
Under $100 Linky Party @ Beyond The Picket Fence
Open House Party @ No Minimalist Here
Creative Inspirations @ Embracing Change

http://www.lizmarieblog.com/

My Repurposed Life – Thursday Catch as Catch Can

Friday:

Show and Tell Friday at My Romantic Home

Furniture Feature Friday @ Miss Mustard Seed

Aloha Friday @ http://jedandivy.blogspot.com

Frugal Friday @ Shabby Nest

2805 – Potpourri Friday

Redoux Interiors – Friday Redouxs

Shabby Art Boutique – Shabbilicious Friday Link Party

Stuff and Nonsense – Fridays Unfolded

Kitchen Fun and Crafty Friday @ Kitchen Fun with My 3 Sons

Thistlewood Farms

Saturday:

Spotlight Saturday @ Classy Clutter

Sat. Night Special @ Funky Junk Interiors

Check Me Out Saturday @ A Vision To Remember

 Rustic Restorations Weekends @ Homespun Happenings

Strut Your Stuff Saturdays @ http://www.sixsistersstuff.com/

Talent Tuesday @ Vintage Wanne Bee The Blog

Sincerely Paula’s No Rules Weekend Blog Party

24 thoughts on “The Sweetest Thing & My First ASCP

  1. Omgoodness! That sounds like the way to go repainting furniture! It turned out great!

    Thanks for sharing this with my NO RULES Weekend Blog Party :)

    Paula
    lifeasweknowitbypaula.blogspot.com

  2. It really does look lovely. I have a similar set that I am about to paint gray. Aside from that, I have great news for you!

    I just nominated you for a “Liebster Blog Award”! Please check out my latest post: http://wp.me/p12yAb-H1, to participate and nominate your favorite blogs! Have a great weekend!

  3. Found you via Decorum DIY. I am considering doing my first ASCP job on table in my living room, I can’t wait to see yours with the glaze and distressing, did you put it on with a roller or brush…it looks soooo smooth..loving it!

Leave a Reply

