ASCP & Snow

It’s here!  It’s here!  I  woke up to our first snow fall of the season!  It was 80 degrees earlier this week and my girls were wearing shorts, typical Colorado weather.  The first snow fall is a very exciting time around our house, it means that ski season is upon us (and sledding too) and since Little Miss M will be skiing for the first time this winter, she is especially stoked.  Here are a couple of pictures of our backyard with the first dusting of snow.

But what is more exciting than the first snowfall of the season, I ask you?!?  Annie Sloan Chalk Paint!  It is actually in my house, for the first time!  I’ve been waiting a couple of years to buy ASCP.  I sold my first official piece of furniture last week (yeah!) and wanted to use the “seed” money to do a couple of upgrades to Mrs. White Twig & Tea.

First on the list was to drop the wordpress.com from my url.  Now my followers and visitors can use both http://mrswhitetwigandtea.wordpress.com and http://mrswhitetwigandtea.com urls to access my blog.  Yeah!

Second was to purchase the famous Annie Sloan Chalk Paint.  There is only one ASCP supplier near me and it’s this awesome shop called the Little Black Chair.  I would’ve ordered online, but I’m so glad I was able to visit the Little Black Chair.  It’s an incredibly wonderful shop with a huge selection of beautiful furniture painted with ASCP using many different techniques.  The staff took time to help me decide on colors and discuss the application of ASCP wax and the importance of using the wax brush.

The first color I chose was Antoinette.  It’s a gorgeous light rosy pink and perfect for the dresser and mirror that I’m planning to paint for a little girls room.

After much discussion with the staff at the Little Black Chair, I also bought Old White.  I have quite a few pieces in line for this white.

Then came the wax.  I chose clear wax specifically for the pink dresser and a little coffee table.  I really wanted the dark wax too, but baby steps, baby steps.

After reading tutorials and blogs galore on ASCP, I decided it was worth it to also purchase the wax brush.

I love, love the Little Black Chair logo and how they used the “h” to spell chair.   You can visit the Little Black Chair’s blog here and find information on their ASCP workshops here.

My Mom is in town for the weekend and we’re off to the Paris Street Market!  I’m excited to find some vintage antique treasures and to see some fellow Coloradans creations.

Have a great weekend!  -Angela

5 thoughts on “ASCP & Snow

  1. I can’t wait to hear what you think of the ASCP! I’ve done one piece and I’m itching to do another. The pink and white will do some beautiful projects.

  2. Hi Angela! I saw you are my newest follower so I wanted to come see what you’re up to over here, and I can’t wait to browse your blog a little more! I see you’re in Colorado and I’m actually at the airport on my way to Denver now! Hope you have a great day!

  3. We had the “S” word Saturday morning :( I’m SO not ready for it! Give me a few more weeks of fall!!!

    Thanks for linking up with Super Sunday Sync! Hope to see you next week and before :)
    dawnsdisaster.blogspot.com

  4. Snow already! Eek! I’ll hold off as long as I can! That means it’s cold. And dangerous to drive. And I’m not ready for that. ;)

    Found you from the linkup. Newest follower via email subsciption! (I couldn’t find the GFC on your page?!)

    Swing by if you can!

    xo
    SEL
    growinglaughingandlovinginlife.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

